The Newark/Essex Foreclosure Taskforce was created in 2007 in response to the rise in foreclosures in Newark and surrounding communities in Essex County related to the sub-prime mortgage market crisis.

The Taskforce is comprised of representatives of over 40 community development corporations, nonprofit housing counseling and legal service providers, government and community development officials and advocacy organizations.

Taskforce Member Organizations

Apostles House
Brand New Day
City of East Orange
City of Irvington
City of Newark
City of Orange
Enterprise Community Partners
Essex County Housing & Community Development
Essex County Sheriffs Department
Essex-Newark Legal Services
Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Freddie Mac
Greater Newark LISC
Housing and Community Development Network of NJ
Ironbound Community Corporation
La Casa de Don Pedro
Legal Services of New Jersey
Metropolitan Baptist Church
National Housing Institute
NeighborWorks America
Newark NAACP
Newark NOW
New Community Corporation
New Jersey Citizen Action
NJ Community Capital
NJ Conservation Loan Fund
NJ Dept. of Banking and Insurance
NJ Institute for Social Justice
Office of Senator Menendez
Office of the Attorney General
Partnership for a Better Tomorrow
Rutgers, Bloustein School
Rutgers, Cornwall Center
Seed Corporation
Seton Hall Law School
Tri-City Peoples Corporation
US Department of Housing and Urban Development
Unified Vailsburg Services Organization
United Community Corporation
Urban League of Essex County
US Attorneys Office
Urban League of Essex County
Victoria Foundation
Volunteer Lawyers for Justice